Official first day of Pre-K

first day of prek

Ugh… I did not think I would be all emotional that today is the first day of Pre-K. He’s been going to the same preschool for two years. He started off with 2 days a week and then graduated to three days a week. He loves it and he loves learning. I’m excited that he loves learning and his teacher this year is Ah-Mazing! Seriously, I love her. So excited!

I just did not expect to be emotional. It hit me that this is just the start of many years of organized education for him. He’s required to go to school every day. He’s growing up. He’s still my baby but to acknowledge that he has entered the next stage of his life… the “school phase” makes me sad. This is it. The part where they will learn as much reading, writing, arithmetic, etc as they can all while growing into the people they will become.

This isn’t new for me. N is in high school and it’s been a crazy ride for us. Exhausting almost. Then again, he is the first one and we had no clue what we were doing. Sorry buddy! I can get an idea what little B will experience in regards to what he will learn and when. How is another question. I am not sold on homeschool (scares the living daylights out of me) , public school (same as homeschool but for different reasons), or private school (expensive) yet. Good thing I have a few more months before I have to make a decision!

I had hoped that today I would feel elated to have some time to myself, but instead I feel sad.  Almost lost.  It’ll pass and I know that my daily routine will change just like his will.  We will get through this.  I look forward to watching my baby grow up and become the awesome man I know he will become.  I’m just going to miss my “baby”. 

Happy School Year!

P.S. Isn’t it cool that he wants to be a Doctor this year?  Last year he wanted to be a painter.  Will he keep this dream or change it?  Who knows!!!  

Leave a Reply

