Marshmallow madness

Some of the things I love having B in preschool is being reminded how fun can be so simple.  A few weeks ago his teacher sent home a bag with mini marshmallows and toothpicks.  My immediate thought was, “Oh he will never eat these”.  That’s when B informed me they weren’t for eating but for building.  How did I not think of this?  Did I miss this Pinterest post somewhere?

What has ensued the past few weeks has been nothing short of marshmallow madness.  I have picked up more of those little boogers around the house, but we have also had a lot of fun with them.  For me, it’s a reminder that with all of the technology out there, that kids really do like all kinds of fun that requires use of their brain, exploration, and absolute silliness.

I have to admit that I have forgotten what we used to do when we took our oldest our to dinner (pre-iPhone days).  I hate that I have forgotten that.  So now, my goal is to find as many silly games that he can play while we are out to dinner.  I also want to get silly with stuff we have at home and explore with that.  He loves fun science projects!

So, next time you find yourself at a loss as to what to do with the kiddos, get some mini marshmallows and toothpicks.  Get crazy with them and see what you can come up with.  They will love it!

Leave a Reply

