Hot Chocolate’s Lesson

Not sure what this says about me but sometimes I do things I know I am not prepared for but I do them anyway. I also go all out when I do them, even if I don’t know what the heck I am doing or why I am doing it.

Take the Hot Chocolate 5K for instance. When I registered for it I was doing really well with training consistently but only doing run/walk intervals. My time was getting better so I got zealous and decided to register for a 12 min mile. I knew I would be able to do that just fine. Then…. Life happened.

I slacked on training because time was not my friend. I spent more time in a car driving everyone around and running errands than anything. I neglected what I needed to do help keep me sane and balanced. Needless to say, as the 5K got closer I got more nervous. As I sat in a coral, with a sign that said “No Walkers”… I began to get scared. This facial expression was REAL!!!

2015/01/img_9300.jpg

Thankfully, my friend was encouraging and also laughing at me being so silly. She didn’t understand…. I was NOT a runner. I wasn’t ready to be a runner. I was a pretend runner. I had no choice though. Everyone around me was going to run and ready or not, so was I.

2015/01/img_9302.jpg

It was cold. It was uncomfortable. It was fun! I was able to set a pace that I was comfortable with and work to get my breathing under control. I admit I did have to get on the sidewalk a couple of times to catch my breath, but overall I ran. I was so amazed at myself. I remember at one point asking myself, “Why is running this 5k so easy for me?” It wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be. It wasn’t as scary as I thought I was going to be. I finished my race and I did so by beating my best time… And my average pace was 12.36. Not too bad for a girl who hasn’t trained!!!

What did I learned from this? I learned that I may not be prepared for what is in front of me and I may be a little scared, but if I put my mind to it I CAN do it. I have also learned that if I say I am a success at something, well maybe I am. It will just look a little different than someone else’s definition of success. I am a runner. I can do it. It feels great!

2015/01/img_9303.jpg

The end results are sweet. Maybe even a little sweeter than hot chocolate. Maybe.

Leave a Reply

