Failing to succeed at the morning rush

So, I am not ready for Kindergarten.  It’s not just that my baby is growing up and it’s one step closer to him leaving the nest… it’s the fact that I have got to be ready to go early.  Seems small doesn’t it?  I am sure someone will ready this and roll their eyes thinking to themselves how silly this is.  Truth is, I haven’t done “early” in a really long time.  I quit going into the office five and half years ago.  I worked from home for two and half years with the baby and I worked in my pajamas most of the time.  I was home and with kids all day.  I wasn’t in a rush to get dressed for the day.  I am still not in a rush to get dressed for the day.  I am productive during this time in my pajamas… laundry, dishes, making up beds, working on my business, etc… I just do it without being dressed for the day.

It’s amazing to me how fast things changed for me in this fashion.  I used to get up at 6 AM every morning to get ready for work and I was okay with it.  I used to be a morning person.  I used to sip on my coffee while putting on my make up and doing my hair.  I would fill up my cup one more time for the ride to work.  I was good with that.  I have changed and I didn’t even realize the impact the change would have on me.  I have got to get back to that (minus the driving to work thing because I still work at home).  I have to get back to being ready for the day early.

This past week I had B take part in a local baseball camp.  It was awesome and he loved it.  The catch was  we had to be there by 8 AM.  WHAT THE HECK?!  I totally understand why and I am not complaining but it was a shock to the system.  Let’s just say that we were rushing out the door each day and some days we were late.  It’s not a big deal, it’s just camp but for me it was a preview of what is to come for school.  The clock seems to go really fast when you have somewhere to be.  I often left without makeup and hair done…. okay I always left that way.  It’s not a big deal, but it irritated me that I couldn’t get that task done.

Our oldest, N, gets himself dressed and ready for school on his own each day which is bonus because he gets up at 5:30 AM.  High school hours suck and I am grateful he is that kid who will get himself going.  It’s probably because he has always been an early riser and can’t stand to be late to anything.  I don’t like being late to anything either but it seemed that I really had an issue with getting to this camp on time.  I started questioning how I was going to get B to school on time if I couldn’t make one week of this?  I am sure we will get it together once school starts, but for now I am in questioning mode.  A part of me says to enjoy sleeping in and doing things the way we have been doing for two more months but then the other part of me says that I need to make myself get up and start my day earlier.  Go back to the routine I had when I worked outside of the home for all of those years.  It’s a stupid struggle… a first world struggle but the struggle is real.  I just can’t believe that the struggle has become real for me. I have failed the morning rush task.  I have two more months to figure this out and I will.  Maybe it’ll do me some good to become the morning person again. I hope so because I don’t have much of an option with it.

Leave a Reply

